Starbucks vs. Local

photo 1-1 VS. photo-4

I love love love Starbucks Coffee.  Sure, sometimes it’s a little burned because they try to keep the temperature so hot, but overall they have some great coffee.  When I lived in Boone, we didn’t get a Starbucks until my senior year.  This meant that my entire college career was fueled by a local coffee company.  My Starbucks passion is only a recent development.

I’ve never been one of those ‘go local’ earthy types, but I can’t help but think that I only buy Starbucks to have the label on my cup.  Sure, they’ve got great flavors and are located on nearly every corner, but they are such a huge corporation that I will probably never get to meet the owner and shake their hand or say thank you.  This is an experience I value when I go to a local coffee shop.  Sure, I may have to go a little bit out of my way to get my fix, but it might just be worth it to get that personal experience and meet someone whose main passion is delivering a high quality coffee.

I guess the verdict of the debate is still up in the air for me.  Which do you prefer?  Corporations or local coffee?

Leave a Reply

