10 Organization Tips

Visit mikaelarae.blogspot.ca

Visit mikaelarae.blogspot.ca

I don’t know about you, but the new year inspires me to start making lifestyle changes and one of those for 2014 is to make my life more organized.  Now that it is almost March, I have to continue to remind myself to keep up the resolutions I made.

I love organization and knowing that everything has a place, but the problem that I run into is that I have too much stuff and not enough space or I end up with several “misc” boxes.  That’s not good.  I am really going to work on getting rid of anything that I don’t use regularly or don’t really need.  In the process of organizing, I have come up with a few tips that should help you organize anything you’re trying to tackle!  Happy Organizing!

1.  Ask yourself, “Have I used this in the past month?” If the answer is no, then you should probably get rid of it.

2.  If it’s broken or needs some type of fixing, think about how long you have been saying that you’re going to fix it, if it’s been more than a month the chances are there will be several more months before it is gotten to.

3.  Don’t be afraid to invest in quality organizational products.

4.  Color Coordinate.  I’m super obsessive about making sure my closet is always organized by color.  I even go so far as to make sure the pieces are sorted based on sleeve or hem length as well.  It makes it so much more convenient when I am trying to get ready in the morning.

5.  Before buying something new, see if you already have something that might be able to serve the same purpose.  For example, I’ve been searching high and low for the perfect basket to put on my coffee table so I can neatly store all my remote controls.  I have been unable to find what I was looking for, so I started searching my storage tubs and found this great dish, which is absolutely perfect for my remotes.  Seriously, don’t be afraid to think outside the box.

6. If you haven’t worn it in the past three months, you’re not going to.  Donate it.

7.  Get rid of 5 things, and don’t replace them.  Odds are, you have 5+ things laying around that don’t get used.  Take this opportunity to purge yourself of them.

8.  Make sure everything has a place. If you don’t currently have somewhere to put it, find a place.  If not place is to be found, then you should probably just cut your losses and get rid of it.

9.  Determine what is decoration and what is clutter.  I am all about some decorations in my apartment, and I have to remember to keep them to a minimum.  After all, I do still want space to function.  Your home can’t be set up exactly like a model home might be, for the simple fact that it is not functional.  Make sure your counters are clear and your shelves are only displaying things worth seeing.

10.  Ask yourself if you would buy it if you saw it in the store right now.  If you wouldn’t, it’s time to give it up.  If it has sentimental value, and is small, think about tucking it away somewhere that it won’t be taking up too much of your precious space.

Want some fun organizational ideas?  Check out my ‘Organization’ Board on Pinterest:

http://www.pinterest.com/misssthrnbelle/organization/

 

Leave a Reply

