Cooler Painting Season

Welcome to cooler painting season!  It’s time for girls to start shopping for dresses, dates and, most importantly, their cooler themes.  Last year I decided to make a cooler for my spring break trip with my friends, and I loved it!  It was really fun getting to decide the theme for each side, and painting it was a lot easier than I thought it was going to be.  It required a lot of paint and Modge Podge, but the end result was so worth it.

Looking to paint your own cooler?  Here is a list of some things you’re going to need:

1.  A theme.

For mine, I decided to make each side have a different theme that represented me in some way, but the overall theme was Spring Break!

 

 

2.  Good Paint Brushes

Your brushes are key, because you don’t want the bristles to come out in the paint and stay on the cooler.  It looks bad and is also just really annoying when you put so much time into painting it perfectly.

3.  Lots of Paint

I can not stress this enough.  Paint paint paint.  You are going to have to lay it on pretty thick so that it will cover the plastic of the cooler.  It takes some time to dry, but I promise it’s worth it.

4.  A Bottle of Modge Podge

Modge Podge is really important because it’s what helps protect and seal your paint.  I even put shellack on top of that to further protect the paint.  You’re still going to have some chipping, but it will help keep it to a minimum.  I did about 4 layers of MP and one of shellack.

5.  Sponge Brushes

I found that sponge brushes were the best for applying MP and shellack.  I had to throw them away afterwards because I couldn’t get all the sealant out of them, but it was worth it.  They help spread it evenly and give you a smooth, glossy finish.

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Want some more ideas?  Check out my Pinterest board!

 

Leave a Reply

